Job

I’ve recently started working as a proofreader. I work from home and have control over my work hours. I go over 5 to 6 thousand words per day.

Some days are great and I get everything done fairly quickly.

But some days, like today, are pretty awful.

I don’t understand how some of these people are allowed to write these texts. I think they didn’t go through any copywriting training and just did some test to get the job.

I start reading and have absolutely no idea what they are trying to say. I lose so much time going through references and the internet in general, just trying to find out the meaning of a single sentence. I feel like they also have no idea what they wanted to write.

And as I am a nervous mess, and somewhat of a perfectionist, I can’t let these awful copies go out like that. I don’t want to be responsible for that chaos. So sometimes I spend 10 hours trying to fix their incompetence.

And I just went through a mild panic attack because I had two bad texts in a row and I can’t figure out how to fix them. I just left them for later, but I’ll have to do them eventually and I’m already dreading the moment.

Of course, that ruined the day for me already and I still have six other texts to go through. I really don’t know how to deal with this and how to focus.

Plus, I’m on my period and it’s like 40 degrees.

Leave a Reply

